A lot of people on here will know about Cumulus Sleeping bags. For what it's worth own the Quantum 450 and think it is excellent; the way it lofts is amazing.
However, whilst searching the net I came across this site:
http://www.sleepingbags-cumulus.com
I emailed the UK Cumulus to find out what was going on and received this reply (with my email below):
"10/01/2012
Dear Duncan,
Thank you for your enquiry. We are the exclusive
distributor for Cumulus sleeping bags in the UK.
The sleeping bags that we sell were designed by
us to suit the UK climate and the typical
sleeping bag requirements of people in the UK.
The website that you have found is that of the
Polish company who manufacture the sleeping bags.
Our website is:
http://www.cumulus-sleepingbags.co.uk/ As you can see we still sell the Quantum range;
the Quantum 450 has a RRP of £320.00. A list of
our stockists can be found on the website:
http://www.cumulus-sleepingbags.co.uk/stockists.htm If you require any further information, please do not hesitate to ask.
Best regards,
Ruaraidh Maclean
At 21:13 09/01/2012, you wrote:
>Dear Cumulus,
>
>I came across this website and wanted to check
>it is you as your 'old' website is still on
>Google. It also contains loads of spelling and
>grammatical errors so just wanted to check it
>wasn't some sort of fake website or company trying to rip off your brand:
>
>
http://www.sleepingbags-cumulus.com/down-sleeping-bags.html>
>
>If it is yourselves, are you still selling the
>Quantum range? Also, I'm trying to understand
>why the prices are so much cheaper than they
>were before. I paid about £300 for my Quantum
>450 but the Teneqa 700 seems to have a lot more
>down but is substantially cheaper.
>
>Thanks for your help.
>
>Kind regards,
>
>Duncan"
Whereas I thought Cumulus were the designers and manufacturers it would appear that it is not that straightforward.
The other thing to note is how ridiculously cheap the bags are direct from the Polish manufacturer. The Teneqa 700 and Teneqa 850 look pretty amazing bags for my trip to Aconcagua. Is it too good to be true? Does anybody have any experience of ordering from them?