OUTDOORSmagic
 Home » Forum > GearSunday 12 October 2008 | Help  
More from OM
Site highlights

Free weekly newsletter!
Join OUTDOORSmagic now
Members can use the forum and gallery, receive a weekly newsletter and are eligible to win great prizes!
why join?  
Latest Articles
The Exos Has Landed...
It's not out until 2009, but we have our paws on Osprey's new lightweight pack right now...
Rab's New 2008 Winter Kit!
A 320-gramme down jacket plus lots more as Rab updates its range for this winter.
Ask Instructor Gurl...
'What do I need to pack in a First Aid Kit for the hills?'
Bonington For Free This Saturday
Catch Britain's best-known mountaineer lecturing for free at the MetroCentre.
Weekend Mountain Weather Outlook
All the meteo info you need to plan your bright and blowy outdoors weekend :-)
Travel Partners
Travel Partners
Explore!
Inghams
Exodus
Latest Reviews
6959 Total Reviews
Berghaus Yeti
by huskyman
SIS GO Bar - Apple and Blackcurrant
by david culshaw
Berghaus Yeti
by PirateDani
Berghaus 64 Zero
by PirateDani
Osprey Atmos 35
by Anthony Brown 2
» Loads More Reviews
 FORUM REVIEWS
 

 FORUM
Discussions by:   Latest Posts | New Discussions | Hot Threads | Forum Topics
 Search forum: 
Dodgy gear on the web
1 to 16 of 16 messagesTo post a reply you need to be a member - Join now.
Show/hide user stats
Just to spread the word and warn readers about two gear scams to avoid:

1) A lorry load of Petzl equipment was broken into and stolen just before Christmas. Be careful if buying Petzl gear off auction sites. There is more info about this on the Petzl website.

2) A seller called Peace2018 is selling what appears to be counterfeit North Face etc stuff on Ebay. At first it all looks kosher, but it transpires that fake trainers are his/her main business and fake outdoor gear is just a sideline. It may be enough to satisfy scallies who want to wear the label, but in terms of technical performance on the hills, you may as well be wearing a carrier bag! I didn't buy off him/her, but came perilously close. Be warned!

Anyway, happy new year, it's not all doom and gloom out there! xxx
This member’s stats are private
"A seller called Peace2018 is selling what appears to be counterfeit North Face etc stuff on Ebay"

What *appears to be*???

Take care what you say without evidence, mate...
Show/hide user stats
That is why i said "appears to be" and not "is", mate...
The terms "appears to be" or "is" makes little difference to the liabel laws of the UK, I think that is what Ninja was trying to caution against!
Show/hide user stats
don't e-bay have a rating for sellers, sureley all you have to do is ask the seller if it is a genuine North Face item, if it isn't, and they've said that it is, they've kinda broken the rules, how did you find out the trainers they sell are fake?
This member’s stats are private
Just got back in...to continue with what Tony said above - with libel law, all that has to happen is that the statement made caused some kind of monetary (in this case loss of profit) damage, and the case would be proven. Be very careful.
Show/hide user stats
Maybe one of TNF bods will show up on here and clarify the situation. ie where does all the stuff come from and how can the authenticity be verified?
This member’s stats are private
Like this -
http://www.thenorthfaceguru.com/
And - giving a general warning would be OK, but to commit to "naming" an individual/company is enough to leave someone open to litigation.

Having said that, I don't think it would realistically happen in these particular circumstances!

A "cautionary" e mail to the manufacturers might prove useful though !
BTW


I did a search on North Face on e bay and a number returned the sales location as "Asia/UK."

There is a VERY lucrative market in counterfeit gear from China, and since they now have control over the Hong Kong market, I would be naturally suspicious of anything of that source. This also means that genuine manufacturers can do very little to curb this particular "source!"
Show/hide user stats
There are very few real bargins on e-bay these days due to the number of users and professional resellers

If it seems too good to be true it is!!

look at the huge ammounts of seconhand climbing protection available from cams to ice screws. Would you trust these to save your life? even if someone is a genuine seller.
Show/hide user stats
Peace2018 IS SELLING FAKE GEAR!

Ok, I don't think there's any doubt what is being said by me! The site JJ has mentioned is brilliant. The easiest way to spot the difference when you don't have the gamrent in your hands to examine is to look at the logo.

Compare the logo picture here:
http://www.thenorthfaceguru.com/DSC00013.JPG

With one of the items (picked at random) Peace2018 is selling:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=21235&item=7124498111&rd=1

Look at the last pic on the auction and you can clearly see the pathetic stitching on the R in the logo.
This seller is based in China, need anyone say more ???
Show/hide user stats
Surely this guy should be reported to ebay and TNF?
Isn't that the right thing to do?

Looking at his profile Darren, he is based in china which means that the UK authorities have very little they could do about it. It is suspected that the Chinese regime not only ignore brand counterfeiting, but that they encourage it as it brings in western money.

As for E bay, IMHO, this is one of the downsides. I have used it and had some good bargains, it is very much a case of "buyer beware" however!

I don't think E bay worries too much about it, and even if this seller was thrown off, the system lends itself to another profile being the easy way around that.

You have to be honest about it really, anyone buying in such circumstances is either very naive or at the very least suspects that such items are "ooky."


That is another problem with modern society, the popularisation of the "Trotters" characters means that the General public are always on the look out for cheap items and some wouldn't care if items have "fallen from the back of a lorry."

Silly really, because we all pay for it in one way or another!

 You say:
Message: (1500 character limit)
(Using the Quick Post will also register you with the site)
First Name: *
Last Name: *
Email: *
Security Image:This is a security image
Write the characters shown in the image above (Case sensitive)
I agree to the site's Terms and Conditions & Code of Conduct
  
  
 

Change stats view
Make external bookmarkAdd to My Bookmarks

« Previous thread   -   Next thread »
Home > Forum > GearForum jump  
Members Logon
Email:
Password:
forgot your
password?
Article search
Support our partners
Cotswolds

Cotswolds

 Send to friend | Join Now ^ Top of Page
About OUTDOORSmagic
- About Us
- Privacy Policy
- Terms and Conditions

Subscribe to OUTDOORSMAGIC RSS news feed.
Contact Us
- Support
- Advertise with us
- FAQ
- Retailers: free site review
Affiliates
- Take our news for free
- RSS Feed
Magicalia Digital Publishing
Cycling
- BIKEmagic
- RoadCyclingUK
- SheCycles
- LondonCycleSport
- Visordown
- ProTourNews
Outdoors
- OUTDOORSmagic
- FISHINGmagic
- GOLFmagic
- TheMainSail
Lifestyle
- ThinkBaby
- Gardening.co.uk
- AVReview
- ThinkCamera
Hobbies
- ModelFlying
- MilitaryModelling
- ModelBoats
- GetWoodWorking

- Full Portfolio
© 1999-2008 Magicalia Ltd.