OK here's a question to all you techies out there.
A friend of mine has a website he asked us to have a look at, problem s that while investigating it I discovered that he was using a system for credit cards transactions provided by a company called www.safeserver.co.uk
Basically this firm allows subscribers to view credit card details entered on their website and then manually input them into their own pdq machines on site, like they would an order over the phone. It uses safeservers ssl encryption so that you don't have to make your own website secure
The system is working fine but it worried me as a method of gaining online payments so I did a bit of digging and it appears that if you go to the https site of safeserver.co.uk they have been hacked by a firm from Turkey . The individual section of the site he uses is working fie but the main site is down.
The hacking firm is called cezateam, anyone know any details about them, what risk the pose ect,ect as I can't get a lot of info outof google.
I know nothing about this company, but it would personally worry me if they have been hacked as this would imply they are not very good at patching their servers. Also, would expect that in the event of being hacked, would have disaster recovery in place to return to a normal service quickly.
I have never heard of them. If you want a decent online payment, HSBC do a good system, they process all Online transactions, Alpkit uses them I belive.
Or you could just do the low tech end of the system and use Paypal.
If they have gone down in that manner, I would move on immeadiatly.
That site is currently not available, so I cant check them out (Certs etc).
I've not been using them , sort of inherited the problem so to speak, we have now switched them over to HSBC so the problem is solved our end, but there appears to be a number of recognized companies using this company, and this problem surprised me somewhat !
I just purchased safe server, for 59$, it scanned my system, fixed it and I haven't seen it since.............SafeServer.UK.RU......thinking it was a rip.