I saw the ad for Sportpursuit on one of the OM pages and thought I'd have a look, but was then asked to sign in. What's the idea behind that then? I know nothing about this outfit and the info on the page you're directed to is scanty, to say the least. Others might feel differently about this, but I certainly didn't feel like finding out any more.
|
 |
Hi Guy,
I just saw your post. I'm one of the founders of SportPursuit so thought it might be useful to give you a bit more background on us and hopefully ease your fears.
SportPursuit was founded in August 2011 by a group of keen sportspeople who wanted a different way to shop. We are currently working with over 100 brands, many in the outdoor space. We are building relationships with these brands to bring our members unbeatable prices, offering as much as 70% off RRP, in flash sales that last up to 7 days. The reason we ask potential customers to sign up is to ensure that we can look after our brand partners and not simply show their prices to the rest of the world. Once a customer signs up, they can see and shop the great sales.
To find out a bit more about us take a look at http://www.sportpursuit.co.uk/aboutus or drop me an email at founders@sportpursuit.co.uk
Also, thank you for the comments about the landing page - it is very useful to get feedback from potential customers. We will work on making this more informative.
|
 |
 bollocks it is. what utter nonsense. whose brilliant business model is this dreamt up by. did they ever pass any business exams? i can't look i don't buy. i'll live with myself for missing all those wonderful bargains. i'm a fool to myself.
|
 |
The business model is new to sports in the UK but is really successful elsewhere - check out www.gilt.com (US fashion site).
We've got some awesome deals on the site at the moment, including 50% off Haglofs and 70% off Trespass. I do, however, agree that it is hard to sign up to a new site when you are not familiar with it and cannot see the products.
Membership to our site is free and only requires email address, name and password. We completely protect the privacy of our members - we don't advertise on the site, and we will never share the details of our members with any third party. Any member can also request to be removed from our database at any time.
We may not win you over Parky Again! But we promise we're only out there to give great deals to our members.
|
 |
 sounds like a complicated version of tkmaxx. especially for a fashion site. i'll live without the benefits. a site with a non-viewable blog. that's a good one too.
|
 |
 > But we promise we're only out there to give great deals to our members. And to make money in the process, of course... There have been similar models to this, such as letsbuyit.com, but it looks to me like this is a bit of an online TK Maxx; the special deals with suppliers may be excess clearance, or bulk discount arrangements. An interesting negotiation with suppliers' other 'bricks and mortar' or even online outlets... The only way that large discounts can be offered is for clearance purposes, or by direct sales, avoiding markups at each of the distribution stages (a la Alpkit); things cannot suddenly become magically cheap to supply...
|
 |
 This sounds like the US site Steeo and cheap I would think you would need a big data-base of potential customers to get a 'bulk price' from manufacturers, hence the 'signed on' bit?
|
 |
 Can't see what the problem is. I can understand why brands wouldn't want cheap prices from clearance or bulk orders featuring in google searches and devaluing current stock... especially if they are not particularly fashion items with limited shelf life. Just signed up (with spam friendly email address) and had a quick look at the Haglofs sale and then did a search on google shopping for the same items. The discounts are very impressive.
|
 |
 clearance or bulk orders. erm..isn't that called a sale? it doesn't bother go outdoors. impressive discounts but do they actually have any stock?
|
 |
 Call it a what you like, a Spitz jacket costs £180, thats cheap in anyones book and yes it is available for order, unlike a lot of Go Outdoors stuff. I obviously can't comment on any other part of the service as I haven't ordered anything and neither have you - so shut the feck up! Very focused buying and selling seems to be the reason for the prices. 
|
 |
 up shutted
|
 |
 > Call it a what you like, a Spitz jacket costs £180, Shhhhh! You're revealing the secret prices...
|
 |
 Eh??? Sportpursuit??? All I'm seeing at the moment is ads for Strawberry.net bloody fragrances!!!!!!
|
 |