Alternatives to Coleman Fuel

An alternative to expensive coleman fuel for an XGK2

14 messages
10/06/2005 at 13:30
Any ideas as to what I can use instead of coleman fuel as I am a little hacked off at the cost of it?

Had thought of perhaps turps/white spirit?
10/06/2005 at 14:01
I've happily used white spirit in my Optimus Nova - it's a bargain bought in decent quantities from B&Q etc. compared to the poxy tins of Coleman fuel - so I'd have thought an XGK2 would handle it no problem.
10/06/2005 at 14:40
No idea what an XGK2 is but in an old coleamn peak 1 I've used normal unleaded and lighter fuel. Panel wipe from a motor factors is suppsoed to be good and cheap but I have no personal experience of using it.
10/06/2005 at 14:48
Hey Dave

There is a tread on here somewhere from about a year ago but I can't find it. I use panel wipe which I get from a local bodyshop. It's composition is apparently very similar to Coleman fuel and it certainly burns very clean and hot and it is about £10 for 5 litres. I have a Whisperlite by the way.
10/06/2005 at 14:52
Buying White Gas in bulk for the Panel Wipe discussion.
10/06/2005 at 14:53
Aah - thanks Captain. Your search skills are obviously more sophisticated than mine.
10/06/2005 at 15:15
Unleaded petrol works fine with an XGK and is readily available from purveyors of fine vehicle fuels and other good stores :-)

OutdoorsMagic Editor | jon@outdoorsmagic.com 

10/06/2005 at 16:18
Unleaded petrol isn't particularly healthy stuff, though. 35% aromatics (i.e. carbon ring molecules), and max 1% benzene. Stuff like Panel Wipe, being intended as a volatile surface cleaner, shouldn't (!) pose a carcinogen risk. I may look up the MSDS data.
Si
10/06/2005 at 17:14
I think there was a suggestion that panel wipe had a lot of nasty stuff in it, and that you wouldn't want to be breathing in any of the fumes. Think it had a high benzine content, but I could be wrong as I'm working from memory.