Light Weight Waterproof Advice?

1 to 20 of 30 messages
19/03/2012 at 21:57

Ladies / Gents,

I am a newbie and hope I am not wasting peoples time.

I am after the lightest, waterproof most breathable jacket avaliable - money not an issue.

I run HOTTER THAN THE SUN all the time so don't need a fully waterproof hardcore jacket (I have an eVent North Face for that anyway which I hardly wear due to overheating). I am not a hill climber / walker / fell runner, just someone after a robust waterproof I can carry in my pocket/rucksack for the UK weather.

I have just bought a Arcteryx Gamma LT Softshell and this is 'perfect' in respect to weight and breathability - but is only showerproof (not tested yet!)...so I want a jacket to carry in the pocket and use if it really downpours.

Research has got me down to 2 possibles: Marmot Super Mica or Montane Minimus???

Any advice on these or ANY OTHER jackets would be appreciated.

I am after : (in order of importance to me)

• Waterproof
  • Breatheable
  • Lightweight
  • Packable into a pocket/rucksack
  • NOT The North Face or Berghaus brands please

Thank You, 1baloo.

19/03/2012 at 22:10

hi baloo. i've not found any water proof which is breathable enough to stop you roasting whilst running, and i have tried.  

it will be interesting to hear if there is such a jacket.  the best thing i could suggest is pertex. which is not waterproof.

i have seen runners/bikers in some sort of white coloured, nearly see-through coat which is supposed to be great but not sure what its called. someone on here should help you out.

19/03/2012 at 22:22