Garmin eTrex h - using software for routes

Any tips ?

8 messages
01/03/2012 at 12:07

Hi,

I have a Garmin eTrex H and I have just bought a cable to connect it to my PC/Mac for transferring routes I map on the computer to the GPS. 

When I go for a 2 day trip camping and walking, I like to be flexible about the route I will take. So I intend to map say 4 or 5 different routes and transfer them to the GPS.

I've never done this before so if you have some tips about naming routes, naming waypoints or anything else I would be delighted to hear from you.

I thought I would use the Walkhighlands website for plotting the routes and then Easy GPS for transferring them to the GPS, because it's free. Only down side to this is heights are not transferred with the locations.Any other downsides you know of ?

01/03/2012 at 16:55
For Apple no idea. For PC use Mapsource if the cable is a serial. Else use basemap. Finding Garmin maps to use on these programs just google around they excist...
01/03/2012 at 21:15
Thanks Zuma, but it seems to be quite expensive £140 or so.
01/03/2012 at 23:25
Oké try here to find some luck

http://openmaps.eu/
02/03/2012 at 09:17

Thanks Zuma, however the United Kingdom is not covered yet by that site. I am happy to use the Walkhighlands website to plot my routes and transfer them to my GPS. Heights are not transferred which is a little inconvenient.

Ignoring map software for now, if you own an etrex H and you want to plot a route, I would be grateful to know what names you give to your routes andd what names to your waypoints so that it is not confusing to you when out walking. As you know the etrex h as limited name lengths and milited routes. I hope to find out from someone who uses the etrex what they do.

02/03/2012 at 10:08