Breaking into outdoor writing

1 to 20 of 23 messages
14/01/2006 at 11:15
Hi folks, best wishes to all. I'm new to OM and thought this would be a good place to pick your brains. Whilst reading the current crop of outdoor mags each month I often think to myself "Blimey,I can write better than that" or "This guy hasn't got a clue". I would love to be a Tom Hutton, Jim Perrin (in my dreams), Jerry Rawson etc and I'd like some advice on how best to approach potential employers. I live in Peterborough and I'm fairly itching to contact Trail but want to get it right and not appear amateurish. I'd appreciate any feedback from those in the know. Diolch
14/01/2006 at 16:38
It might be worth getting yourself along to The Outdoors show at the NEC in March. Talk to the people on the TGO stand first, you will find them to be helpful and a bit less corporate in their approach.

Bad luck on living in Peterborough by the way <smiley wotsit>
14/01/2006 at 19:16
Nicholas, living in peterborough has its advantages then.

Seriously, what is stopping you from contacting Trail? What have you got to lose?

From my experience of journalists (an awful lot) they are usually very approachable and very helpful and usually keen to encourage others to get into the profession.

I don't know your age but (sorry if this is ageist) it helps if you are youngish and can offer something a little bit different.

Why not get in touch with the office manager (her number is in the front of the magazine) and ask if it would be possible to make an appointment with the editor. Go in and have a chat and perhaps ask to do some work experience or some unpaid writing for them. I'm sure if you are determined enough and have some writing ability you'll get where you want to go.

If you need some inspiration, I once gave some work experience to a sixth form kid who thought he could bbe a journalist. He ended up working for ITN. Not bad eh?

Go for it. You only get one life.
15/01/2006 at 00:42