Toubkal - 3-4 day trek, guide advice

9 messages
15/01/2010 at 11:11

Hi there,

Looking to climb Toubkal 2nd May bank holiday. I know there are plenty of threads on Toubkal already but none seem to have what I am looking for. Just wondering if anyone knows of any good, cheapish 3-4 day treks with guides? I am a novice trekker, have only done Ben Nevis and Kilimanjaro.

I've seen a couple of places offering 8 day treks for £600+!!! I read somewhere else that I only need to budget US$40 a day so this seems exorbitant and 8 days for a mountain that is a lot lower than Kili seems ridiculous (we did Kili in 6 days).

Any thoughts / suggestions would be appreciated. As I said, I am a novice, so wouldn't be comfortable going up myself (ie without a guide, muleteer) - wish I had the confidence to do that, would make things a lot easier! anyhoo, any advice would be appreciated

Happy New Year everyone!

15/01/2010 at 11:29

Hi Sul Bee,

You may only need the guide for 2, 3 or 4 days depending on conditions and how fit you are.

You will realistically only need a guide/muleteer (depending on what yuo want to carry yourself) for walking  from Imlil to Toubkal and back. It can be done with little stress in 2 days. Day 1 from Imlil up to Neltner and day two, summit early, (set off at 0600) and walk back down to Imlil in the second day. If you do this I wouldn't try getting back to Marrakech that day as it will be late and driving after night (by you or others) is inadvisable unless it is life or death. Stay another night in Imlil and have a tagine and a bottle of the local wine by a roaring fire.

If I were you I'd spend a couple of days at Imlil before going for Toubkal to acclimatise as Imlil is already at 1,700m. there are day hikes you can do from there just following dirt tracks out of the village.