Salomon Quest 4D GTX

Salomon Quest 4D GTX
A beguiling combination of lightness, stability, comfort and precision that works for hiking, backpacking and scrambling

Our Review

Reviewed: 4 August 2009 by Jon
What's It For? Salomon describes the Quest 4D GTX as a 'new generation backpacking boot featuring protection, comfort and stability designed from the most advanced trail running technologies',In other words, it's a classic lightweight, three-season boot that we'd be looking at for anything short of crampon work. The Techy Bits The interesting bit ...  Continue reading

Gallery

4 images of Salomon Quest 4D GTX See all


See all images...

Reader Reviews

20 user reviews of Salomon Quest 4D GTX See all

Overall reader score
A great pair of 3 season boots that for me feel light and allow me to feel the terrain like I used to with my running shoes, because of this they feel shure footed.
I have had no issue with water ingress but t Continue reading...
Very impressed. Put them straight on from the box. It felt like I had just put on a pair of comfy trainers. I took them on scramble in the lakes where there was a mix of wet greasy rock, slightly icy rock, snow Continue reading...
If someone stole them Id hunt them down. Continue reading...
cant go wrong,
if new to walking blisters could be problem,not with these boots though, ready to go straight away. Continue reading...

Discussions

i have got to say that for a pair of boots that you can wear straight out of a box, these will take some beating less that of their new addition, took these arround  the Annapurna circuit and up onto ABC in Nov and Dec and didnt even notice them on my feet. if you are looking to lighten your load then these are a good starting point, i also wore Injinji toe socks and they are not thick to boot, the padding in the boots worked brill, my last point is the locking lace outlet,it is fantastic and does exactly as jon decribes in the boot review.

Posted: 16/02/2010 at 13:04

Totally agree, I bought these about 4 months ago, been using them for all my training for Kilimanjaro on Friday, in the last 2 months ive been out on the snow covered, ice covered and now very wet and boggy north yorks moors and travelled just over 112miles and climbed just over 3500m and around the same on decent. My feet have stayed dry and no blisters or rubs, in all my life ive never had such good footwear.

I wear bridgedale summit socks with bridgedale coolmax liner and they are doing wonders for blister prevention.

The lace system is as you say brilliant, stops my toes from moving forward into the front of the boot and stops any ankle roll.

If I didnt have such a good job already I would want to work for this company just to sell this boot, best 140 or so quid ive ever spent.

No negative comments to give !!!!!

Posted: 16/02/2010 at 20:25

I also agree, I bought my pair last year and have used them on the hills in vastly varied weather conditions and they are incredibly light and easy on your feet. It didn't seem to matter what socks I had on, i was always comfortable and dry. Some of my unfortunate companions weren't so lucky and their much more expensive boots led to blisters and wet feet. Two of them have now purchased themselves a pair of these fantastic boots.

The locking lace outlet is a great idea and very handy when you need a bit more flexibilty around your ankles.

I was very lucky in getting them for £80 from sports direct when they had them on a promotion.

So no negatives from me either.

Posted: 07/04/2010 at 13:23

Read loads of reviews and was so impressed i went and bought a pair from Snow + Rock. Have only worn them around the house so far. Really want them to work but i have been getting pins and needles in right foot little too. Have tried loosening the laces but still ends up with numb feeling. Left foot ok (which is narrow foot).

 Is there any give in these boots? Or should i give in and try a different brand? Any recommendations for feet which are possibly wider than average??

Posted: 01/06/2010 at 23:43

Little too should read little toe!! Tired

Posted: 01/06/2010 at 23:44

Hi darren,

I am climbing Kilimanjaro in March 2011 for the Children Today charity. Would you recomend these boots for the kili challenge. Any other equipment that may come in useful for my climb.

Regards

Paul

Posted: 27/10/2010 at 11:12

I bought a pair of Salomon Speedcross 2 GTX mail order in size 9 - a size I take for absloutely everything, but I found them just slightly too snug. I wore them around the house for a while but it was still the same. So I sent them back and requested a 9½ and they are just right. I've run and walked in them and found the fit fine.

Perhaps you should try half a size larger?

I'm now considering a pair of Quest or Cosmic GTX boots. Great brand.

Posted: 28/06/2011 at 15:25

Just purchased a pair of Quest 4Ds and on first impressions a very comfortable boot.  Have tried them on local hill, but yet to test on a real Munro, will do this weekend.  I may have found one major problem though - I notice that the bottom lace, where you would normally attach the gaiter hook when using gaiters, goes through a built-in fabric loop instead of the lace being free to take the gaiter hook.  Has anyone found a way around this to attach the gaiter hook.

Posted: 05/08/2011 at 15:22

Jeez John, really ? Either attach the hook to the next lace up, don't feed the lace through the offending loop or put the lace looped through the fabric loop twice so there's a loop on the outside too.

Posted: 05/08/2011 at 19:50


Rod MacDonald wrote (see)
Hello John and welcome to OM. Perhaps you could either attach the hook to the next lace up, don't feed the lace through the offending loop or put the lace looped through the fabric loop twice so there's a loop on the outside too.
Hope that helps.
Fixed it for ya

Posted: 05/08/2011 at 20:10

I bought a pair recently, and after reading the reviews on Cotswolds, I was disapointed.

They leaked in heavy rain, and the tread isn't great, and although they look great, they don't feel great and despite buying the right size and breaking them in well, on long walks they soon become uncomfortable.

They definitely weren't worth the price.

Posted: 11/01/2012 at 21:30

Just bought a pair of these so will post comments on them later but have used quite a few pairs of Salomon boots in the past and all have been great for comfort.

Mr Explorer it sounds like this make just is not for you no manufacturer has yet made any footwear that fits and feels comfortable for everyone when they are mass produced.

If they leak they probably have a fault be it in the stitching or the gortex lining or the wearer thinking they can wade 2 foot plus deep water in them.

The tread not being great is down to what you use them for and expect them to do and how you walk in them but if not enough grip again this is a good reason to try a different brand, as as there is differences in the rubber compound they use some are softer some have wider spaced lugs etc.

If they are uncomfortable if broken in right you should take them back to the shop most good shops will offer an exchange as they advise you to wear them indoors only for the first week or so as they know there is no magic one fits all boot.

Discuss with them what makes them uncomfortable, are they too narrow? are they crushing or making the arch of your foot sore? etc etc from this info they should be able to direct you to a brand that better covers your foor shape and needs.

I know your post is a couple months old but if you still have the boots stuck in a wardrobe ask the shop if they can accept an exchange first if not advertise them on this site but also still ask the shop first for help deciding what brand and model best suits you.

Good luck.

Posted: 22/03/2012 at 01:16

Sign up to our twitter feed

Latest news

GPS help and user guide