Montane Extreme Jacket

Montane Extreme Jacket
Pile-Pertex garments are like some sort of highly effective, primitive life form - they're not slick, or sleek, or massively advanced, but in the right conditions they have a sort of cockroach-style effectiveness

Our Review

Reviewed: 23 January 2013 by Jon
Pile-Pertex garments are like some sort of highly effective, primitive life form - they're not slick, or sleek, or technically massively advanced, but in the right conditions they have a sort of cockroach-style effectiveness that makes them oddly brilliant and Montane's latest Extreme Jacket is no exception. One of the old ...  Continue reading

Gallery

10 images of Montane Extreme Jacket See all


See all images...

Reader Reviews

Be the first reader to review the Montane Extreme Jacket!

Discussions

Jon - Good review. Given the choice of extreme smock or jacket for winter use, which would you choose and why? Do you know how the cuts/style varies between the two garments?

I used to have the XL smock (2003? version) but lost weight and the L was far too snug. Sadly I sold it.
I understand that Montane XL is now 44" chest (it used to be 45") so it might fit better. I assume the jacket will be a closer fit than the smock as it doesn't have to go over your head.
Has anyone used both in anger?

cheers

 

Posted: 25/01/2013 at 18:04

I've got both a smock and a jacket; the smock fits well, but can be a pain to get out of! I find the design of the smock, with the chest pockets, better than the jacket though as the pockets are more accessible. I wouldn't want to comment on cut because both garments are a few years old and the cut may have changed. I use them for Bodying for SARDA, too hot for me for walking.

Posted: 25/01/2013 at 18:40

My old one was great for winter walking in Scotland and watching football matches, too warm for anything except the current weather

Posted: 25/01/2013 at 18:50

If anything the smock might be slightly closer cut due to being meant to wear next to skin. I don't know if the jacket is set up for that. 

I think the smock would likely work a fraction better worn like that anyway so has I to choose one I'd get that. 

Best thing to do cf fit is ask Montane directly They've changed the style recently etc.

Posted: 25/01/2013 at 18:55

I own it, I love it!

 Great for hunkering down in the worst of weathers; sheds the rain brilliantly and wicks wonderfully. Great for high ridge work, and the extra tough fabric bits on the arms work well. I have a Buffalo shirt and this jacket, the Buffalo is great but this is better - and feels a lot less bulky too.

Posted: 28/01/2013 at 11:24

Have the smock and love it. The venting zips up the side make getting it on and off easier but I always seem to manage to detach the hood when taking it off. Fit around the neck seems a bit tight but probably due to me having a big neck for my size. Large pocket on the front is so very useful and I wouldn't buy a jacket again.

Posted: 28/01/2013 at 19:59

found this jacket at http://camouflage-store.com/ for £ 60 .00 + postage go outdoors agreed to price match for £ 63 .

Posted: 28/01/2013 at 20:28

Bargains are unlikely to be the current incarnation of this jacket; rather, previous models on clearance, so fit and features may be marginally different to those described in Jon's article.

Regarding the hem section being free of pile, my suspicion is that it's to prevent snow being picked up and sticking to the pile.

Posted: 29/01/2013 at 12:50

Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

Very warm, highly weatherproof, fast drying, relatively unrestrictive, useful venting options, cavernous hood, reasonably priced.
 
Too warm in non-extreme conditions, relatively heavy, relatively bulky and a pain to carry as a result - once it's on, it's staying on.
  • Price: £125.00
  • Year: from 2012
  • Weight: 1050g
  • Website: www.montane.co.uk
Sign up to our twitter feed

Latest news

GPS help and user guide