Montane Terra Alpine Pants

Montane Terra Alpine Pants
They won't be to blame if you can't step up onto that shoulder-height hold next time you go off route on the North Ridge of Tryfan

Our Review

Reviewed: 16 January 2013 by Jon
Montane's stretchy Terra Alpine Pants have been around for a couple of years now, long enough to get a proper hammering, and they're a cracking pair of all-round, year-round mountain trousers that'll handle anything from walking through to a spot of proper mountaineering. We say 'year round' by the way since ...  Continue reading

Gallery

8 images of Montane Terra Alpine Pants See all


See all images...

Reader Reviews

Be the first reader to review the Montane Terra Alpine Pants!

Discussions

Are these the same cut as the normal Terras?

I'm after something a little warmer...

Posted: 04/02/2013 at 22:33

It'd be surprising if they were - the stretch would tend to mean a closer cut.

I was going to suggest the lined terra pants as another logical thing to look at but they seem to have fallen out of the range this year. Long underwear of course.

Posted: 04/02/2013 at 22:50

Definitely a closer fit - by design.

Posted: 04/02/2013 at 22:53

If they're like the old Terra Stretch, they fit pretty much the same

Posted: 04/02/2013 at 23:12

The Terra Thermostretch are the warmer ones designed for winter - the Terra Alpines are about the same weight as the standard Terras, but closer cut with a bit of stretch. TBH, I tried the Thermos, but find my standard Terras are fine for most days with a pair of thermal leggings underneath. If that combo's too chilly for you, the Thermostrech might be a better option - I've noticed a couple of the shops sticking them up for sale to clear out winter stock, so now's probably a good time to grab a bargain!

Posted: 05/02/2013 at 13:03

I got the Thermostretch ones for Christmas and am very happy with them.  Much warmer than the standard ones which I have found a bit chilly if there is a wind blowing.

Posted: 05/02/2013 at 13:46

My standard Terras are really good anytime it is dry or hot.

I do find them chilly if it is both damp-wet and a bit of wind - i.e. standard UK weather.

I have worn thermals underneath and then make heavy use of the vents.  That covers  anytime it is cold enough not to overheat (which I cannot stand).

Looks like it'll be worth trying some on, assuming they don't match with my Dyno jacket (for that all-in-one shellsuit look 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted: 05/02/2013 at 16:48

Steve, I've got both (Terras and Terra Alpines).  Fit is similar, though the Alpines are closer cut, especially in the lower leg when zipped down.  Leg length and waist size are identical.

The Alpines also have zipped thigh vents, and no, they won't match your Dyno jacket as they don't do black ones anymore.

Posted: 05/02/2013 at 18:13

Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

Weather resistant, neat cut, good mobility, ankle zips make lower leg fitting more versatile.
 
Struggle with heavier rain, no kick patches.
  • Price: £85.00
  • Year: from 2013
  • Weight: 220gg
  • Website: www.montane.co.uk
Sign up to our twitter feed

Latest news

GPS help and user guide