Osprey Packs Talon 11

Osprey Packs Talon 11
Overall the packs sits limpet like on you back and running, biking or simply jumping up and down on the spot are not a problem.

Our Review

Reviewed: 7 May 2009 by Jon
What's It For? The Talon's designed for erm, fast, adventure-orientated users, so runners, mountain bikers and lightweight hikers along with adventure racers. Just a few years ago, we'd have said that an 11-litre bag was too small to work as a day pack, but lightweight kit means that suddenly it's a ...  Continue reading

Gallery

6 images of Osprey Packs Talon 11 See all


See all images...

Reader Reviews

Be the first reader to review the Osprey Packs Talon 11!

Discussions

any comments on this pack as opposed to the Haglofs Ace M? I'm seriously thinking of going in for a minimalist pack of this sort of capacity (in addition to my existing 24-litre daypack), and this one and the Haglofs Ace M are currently top of my list of possibles.

Cheers, and thanks for the great review,

 Andrew 

Posted: 07/05/2009 at 23:03

Just been looking at the Osprey blog here they seem to respect the reviews done on Outdoorsmagic!!

Posted: 08/05/2009 at 17:21

Well if 11 seems too big for anyone their website lists a talon 5.5 too?! Seems like it might be taking a good thing just a touch too far that one....

Posted: 08/05/2009 at 19:05

I know it isn't on your list, but the Gregory Reactor is another option of about the same size.  Personally I think the Talon has the edge, but the area where the Reactor does have an advantage is the huge expandable pocket of the back that will take a cycle helmet, so you can carry that bit extra when needed.  (I think there is a new Gregory model now but that looks quite similar - there was an article on this site a month or two ago).   

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 11:55

hmm. I'll look into it, thanks. Fitting a cycle helmet in might be nice, although mountain biking is more something I want to get into rather than something I actually do ATM.

Cheers,

Andrew 

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 12:47

it's also a good place to keep your waterproof.

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 14:01

I purchased the talon 11 last month.Ive used it a couple of times and i am well pleased with it.It holds just enough gear for a none demanding day walk,not used it with the bike yet.

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 15:33

I'm puzzled. Is there really much difference between a cheapo 11 litre daysack and a posh Osprey one? I understand that if you're racing from peak to peak against the clock then every detail counts. But for the ordinary ramblin' user (my gf is thinking of getting one) how different is the £50 Osprey daysack from the £15 Millets one?

(Of course I myself fancy a supercule Crux daysack but that's a different matter.)

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 16:44

a very small pack is a very small pack. i don't think it matters a hoot what brand it is because you're never going to carry anything heavy in it and so it can't become uncomfortable.

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 16:54

personally for summer hill walking and scrambling I don't use anything much bigger than the pack in question- works fine for me.

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 17:04

Its interesting isn't it. In pure weight terms then you almost certainly don't need a fancy carry system for comfort at these sizes - and hence weights. ~5kg perhaps the typical load for an 11l one?

Something like the OMM last drop (10L) doesn't even bother with a waist belt. I've certainly rarely bothered with doing up the waist belt when using my 20l day sack to carry this sort of load. When I have its been for stability not support.

Where you'll win over a hypothetical  cheapo 11l day sack (do these even exist?) would be in the waist belt pockets, nice bladder pocket etc. Better outer fabric too probably.

To be honest I'd imagine that this isn't aimed at 'normal' users who'll mostly get a 22l one which weighs all of ~100g more They no doubt compress down rather well. Runners and the like need a nice stable thing.

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 19:45

Last year I invested £20 in a Deuter Speed Lite 10 in a sale at George Fisher (I think the rrp is £25) and have been delighted with it so far. It holds a good 10l, has a wallet/key pocket (essential, imo), two good mesh bottle pockets, plus a hydration sleeve, and also waist and chest straps. It's very stable, comfortable, light and can take some punishment. I've used it for evening rambles, hill walks in good conditions and outings on the mountain bike. I don't really see how it could be improved in any significant way, and certainly wouldn't pay more than twice as much for something that might (or might not) be just a little better.

Posted: 10/05/2009 at 20:50

I am looking at something like this myself or maybe the haglofs endurance (anyone tried/got one)  

Posted: 11/05/2009 at 15:55

Does any one make a seriously light small backpack, suitable to fold/roll into a Samsonite carry-on bag of the 55x40x20 size allowed by Ryanair and the like, yet still useable at the other end. The trouble being that Ryanair don't allow a  carry on and a back-pack, reasonably enough, and yet small daysacks aren't generally big enough to carry everything for a few days, and still suitable for light use when there.

Posted: 11/05/2009 at 17:21

Mountain Hardwear do one called the Scrambler that has a 30l capacity and, once a foam back pad has been removed, folds into its own top pocket. Looks quite good, but costs about £50.

Posted: 11/05/2009 at 18:53

Any of the smaller OMM packs also squish up to next to nothing.

Posted: 11/05/2009 at 19:01

Sign up to our twitter feed

Latest news

GPS help and user guide